Love New Zealand

Capital City of New Zealand

The Capital City of New Zealand is Wellington.

Wellington is a port city, located at the southern tip of the North Island of New Zealand, between Cook Strait and the Rimutaka Range.

The resident population of Wellington in the 2013 census was 190,959 and it ranks 3rd in size with 4.5% of New Zealand's population.1

Wellington is actually the third named capital city of New Zealand, and has been our capital since 1865.

In 2011 travel publisher Lonely Planet described Wellington as the "coolest little capital in the world".

Attractions in Wellington include the Museum of New Zealand Te Papa Tongarewa, Wellington Zoo, Wellington Cable Car, Zealandia, and Carter Observatory.

Arriving in Wellington via Ferry

Find out more about Wellington or find local businesses and services in Wellington.

1 Statistics New Zealand