Love New Zealand

North Island Main Cities

The North Island is the smaller of the two Islands of New Zealand. But it is the more densely populated island. It includes both the Capital City of New Zealand, and the largest city in New Zealand.

Auckland - With a population of approximately 1,415,550 people, Auckland is the largest city in New Zealand. The city is built around 2 large harbours, and has many world famous attractions including the Sky Tower. The Auckland Region has a population of about 1.3 million people, and enjoys a warm, temperate climate. Read more about Auckland

Whangarei - Whangarei is the northernmost city in New Zealand. With a population of a little over 76,990, Whangarei enjoys a sunny, oceanic climate, spectacular beaches and beautiful scenery. Diving along the Tutukaka Coast is world famous.

Hamilton - Hamilton has a population of approximately 141,6120 people and rests on the banks of the Waikato River, south of Auckland City. The vast underground network of caves and caverns at Waitomo are near to Hamilton City. Read more about Hamilton

Rotorua - Rotorua has a multi-cultural population of approximately 65,280. The city is built in the heart of a geothermal wonderland, with bubbly mud pools, spouting geysers and hissing vents. There are 17 lakes in the Rotorua district that offer great freshwater fishing, waterskiing, swimming and other water activities. Read more about Rotorua

Gisborne - There are approximately 43,653 people in the Gisborne Region. Gisborne enjoys a sunny climate and is one of the first places in the world to see each new day. Gisborne is also the first part of New Zealand to be sighted by the crew of Captain James Cook's ship the Endeavour. Read more about Gisborne

Taupo - Taupo is a popular holiday destination with a population of about 32,907. Taupo is nestled on the shores of Lake Taupo. With a surface area of 616 square kilometres, Lake Taupo is the largest lake by surface area in New Zealand. Other popular attractions include the spectacular Huka Falls and the Craters of the Moon thermal area. Read more about Taupo

Palmerston North - Palmerston North is a vibrant city with a large youth population. With about 80,079 people, the city enjoys a rich arts and theatre scene with many restored heritage buildings. Here you will find Massey University and several other institutes of importance. Read more about Palmerston North

Wanganui - Wanganui is a large town built on the shores of the Whanganui River. The Wanganui area has a population of about 42,153 and is located about 75 kilometres northwest of Palmerston North. The surrounding region is a part of New Zealand's Nature Coast, featuring rivers, beaches, lakes, mountains, parks and golf courses. The Whanganui River is the longest navigable river in the country, with 239 rapids and stunning bush scenery.

Napier - A seaport, Napier's population is about 57,240. Leveled in 1931 by a devastating earthquake, Napier was rebuilt in the Art Deco style of the day. Today Napier prides itself as the "Art Deco Capital". Wine tours, heritage tours, sailing, fishing and other activities are popular here.

Hastings - Located less than 20 kilometres from Napier, Hastings has a population of about 73,245. Along with many heritage buildings, local attractions include Splash Planet - a large amusement park, Cape Kidnappers - home to the world's largest mainland gannet colony and Te Mata Peak.

Ruapehu - The Ruapehu District has a population of about 11,844 people and is home to Mount Ruapehu, Tongariro National Park, and the Raurimu Spiral on the North Island Main Trunk railway line. The main towns of the Ruapehu region are Whakapapa, National Park and Ohakune. Read more about Ruapehu

Wellington - Wellington is the Capital City of New Zealand and has a population of about 190,959. The city is home to Parliament, the head offices of all Government Ministries and Departments and the bulk of the foreign diplomatic missions in New Zealand. It is also home to Te Papa (the ground-breaking interactive Museum of New Zealand) and the New Zealand Symphony Orchestra. Read more about Wellington